Board of Directors

Mount St. Mary Hospital is governed by a Board of Directors appointed by the Marie Esther Society.


Board Chair; Member, Finance Committee
Bill Joined the Board in 2015 and has practiced law with the Government of British Columbia since 1987 holding a variety of positions in policy-making, program evaluation, and research and analysis.  Prior to his retirement in 2014 he acted as legal counsel for the Ministry of the Attorney General and Ministry of Justice, and held senior positions in the Ministry of Health and Ministry Responsible for Seniors as well.

Member, Governance Committee
Russ joined the Board in 2016 and has been Legal Counsel, Civil Policy and Legislation, BC Ministry of Justice since 1998.  He received his undergraduate and graduate degrees in Philosophy from the University of Victoria and his law degree from UBC.  In 2010 he received the Ministry of Justice Exemplary Service Award for Public Policy Analysis.  Russ enjoys hiking and travelling.

LK cropped

Board Vice-Chair; Governance Committee Chair; Board Representative to Hospital Ethics Committee
Lynn joined the Board in 2014 and is a Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Family Medicine, University of British Columbia.  She has practiced Family Medicine in BC, specialized in Palliative Care and holds certification as a Trainer of Education for Physicians on End-of-Life Care.  Lynn has provided months of volunteer service in Central America  in Palliative Care Physician Activities.


Member, Finance Committee
Clyde joined the Board in 2017 and is a native Victorian. He retired from public service in 2013 where he held a number of senior leadership positions in the BC Ministry of Health including in Strategic Programs – Health Protection, and led the eHealth initiative for the Ministry.  Clyde is an avid outdoorsman and he also volunteers for the Environmental Operators Certificate Program
of BC.

JO-ANN ROBERTS, B.A., Bachelor of Journalism
Member, Governance Committee; Member, Fund Development Committee
Jo-Ann joined the Board in 2016.  She is an accomplished communicator, public relations specialist, educator, journalist and politician.  Following her 20 year career as a radio host for the CBC in New Brunswick and Victoria, Jo-Ann was a Green Party candidate in the 2015 federal election.  She is the BC Director of the Canadian Media Guild and has been  a Harvey Southam Lecturer in Journalism and Non-fiction.

T. Smith cropped

Member, Finance Committee
Theresa joined the Board in 2017 and is a native Victorian. She and her husband owned a Victoria based company that was the liaison between life insurance companies and brokers.  Over a 20 year period, they grew their company from three to 13 staff, and from 50 local to 700 brokers across Canada.  For the past seven years they have owned and managed a commercial building in the downtown core.  Theresa volunteers at St. Patrick’s Parish.



Finance Committee Chair
Phil joined the Board in 2014 and is the Chief Finance Officer/Director Finance for Commissionaires Victoria, the Islands and the Yukon.  He is a Financial Accountant and retired Naval Captain Logistics Officer and he worked with NATO in The Netherlands.  Phil is a member of the Knights of Columbus, and is currently enrolled in the theology Programme at Franciscan University in Ohio.

Copyright must be credited:
(613) 238-5104

CEO and Board Secretary
Sara joined Mount St. Mary as CEO in 2009 and has had a varied career in health care including in clinical nursing and leadership roles, and in the international humanitarian sector.  She is a member of the Governing Council of the Catholic Health Alliance of Canada, Chair of the Catholic Health Association of BC, and Chair of the National Board of Directors of the Canadian Red Cross Society.